A little about the CPAN/UFMS history

The Universidade Federal de Mato Grosso do Sul (UFMS) was established in 1962 in Campo Grande, the state capital since 1979. With a multicampi organizational structure, which includes the Pantanal Campus (CPAN), it has Supplementary Sectorial Administration bodies and of Education, Research and Outreach, distributed in the State of Mato Grosso do Sul.


In 1967, the Government of the State of Mato Grosso created in Corumbá, the Instituto Superior de Pedagogia de Corumbá (Higher Institute of Pedagogy of Corumbá) (ISPC), by State Decree No. 402 of November 13, 1967. On September 16, 1969, integrating the Institutes of Campo Grande, Corumbá and Três Lagoas, State Law No. 2,947 / 69 created the Universidade Estadual de Mato Grosso (State University of Mato Grosso) (UEMT). In 1979, with the division of the State of Mato Grosso, the federalisation of the Institution became known as Fundação Universidade Federal de Mato Grosso do Sul (UFMS), by Federal Law No. 6,674 / 79.


The Pantanal / UFMS Campus is located in the municipality of Corumbá. It is instaled in a building built at Avenida Rio Branco, no. 1,270, between the cities of Corumbá and Ladário, with a privileged geostrategic location. It serves, in addition to the municipality of Corumbá, the municipality of Ladário and the bordering countries of the Southern Cone, especially Bolivia.


In order to comply with the current Statute (COUN Resolution No. 35/2011) and UFMS General Regulation (COUN No. 78/2011), the Pantanal Campus has sought regional integration and stimulated teaching, research and outreach activities. In this sense, it has actively participated in the preservation of natural resources, especially the fauna and flora of the Pantanal, where it is inserted, motivating studies and research on the environmental, political, economic, historical-cultural, linguistic and educational aspects of the region. Thus, it plays an important role in the training of adequately trained professionals, who are inserted in the labor market and contribute to local and regional development.


In the history of this Campus, it was remarkable the incentive to the qualification of the faculty with the continuous participation in the Teacher Training Plan of UFMS. Another important aspect concerns the Masters and Doctors of the Pantanal Campus (CPAN), which increased significantly, expanding the scientific production of the courses, the development of Scientific Initiation, the Specialization Courses and the increase in the organization of various scientific events.


The Pantanal Campus is composed by 13 undergraduation courses and 02 master’s courses, with its respective Laboratories for the practice of teaching.